Frequently asked questions

Cacao refers to the plant and its nutritious beans. Cocoa is obtained by roasting these beans, which can improve flavor but reduces their nutritious value. In contrast, our cacao nibs are made from raw cacao beans which are fermented, dried, and covered in a delicious coating. They retain a maximum of their nutritious value.

No, we only use unrefined sugar which is artisanally extracted from sugarcane grown organically at high altitudes without pesticides or artificial fertilizers.

The cacao for Bio·Inka products comes from one single region in Peru, and so do all other ingredients we use. This ensures the highly consistent quality and flavor of our products.

It’s even better than that: There is no trade or third-party involvement at all. Any intermediary needs to remain profitable by claiming a portion of the profit, while costly free trade certification schemes further reduce the producers’ income. Bio·Inka is unique: The cultivation of all ingredients, the production, import, and sales are all handled by one single family business.

We rely exclusively on traditional organic farming methods. The only fertilizer used is natural guano. Also, the criollo cacao variety grows best in a mixed environment with other indigenous plants of the Peruvian Amazon. Since the other plants supply nutrients, retain moisture and provide shade for the cacao trees, their protection and the maintenance of a natural balance is central to the success of any organic plantation.

We grow all ingredients within the same region and import the finished products directly from Peru to our packaging partner ProGenève in Switzerland. This means carbon emissions through transport are minimal.

In order to allow for strict quality control as close to the customer as possible, the packaging is done in Switzerland by Pro·Genève, who have been serving well-known brands from various sectors for decades. We also chose them for their commitment to employing people with disabilities or social difficulties, a cause that resonates with our own values.

While our partner Pro·Genève inspects the goods for any visible damage or deterioration as they arrive, samples are tested at UFAG Laboratories in Sursee (canton of Lucerne). A specialized food laboratory fully accredited with the Swiss government, they certify the purity and nutritious value of Bio·Inka products.

Questions et réponses

La torréfaction des fèves de cacao peut améliorer la saveur mais réduit leur valeur nutritive. En revanche, nos éclats de cacao sont fabriqués à partir de fèves de cacao crues qui sont fermentées, séchées et recouvertes d'un délicieux enrobage. Ils conservent au maximum leur valeur nutritive.

Non, nous n’utilisons que du sucre non raffiné qui est extrait artisanalement de la canne à sucre cultivée biologiquement à haute altitude sans pesticides ni engrais artificiels.

Le cacao pour les produits Bio·Inka provient d'une seule région du Pérou, tout comme tous les autres ingrédients que nous utilisons. Cela garantit la qualité et la saveur hautement constantes de nos produits.

C’est encore mieux: il n’ya pas du tout d’intervention commerciale ou de tiers. Tout intermédiaire doit rester rentable en réclamant une partie des bénéfices, tandis que les systèmes coûteux de certification du libre-échange («free trade») réduisent davantage les revenus des producteurs. Bio·Inka est unique: la culture de tous les ingrédients, la production, l'importation et la vente sont toutes gérées par une seule entreprise familiale.

Nous nous appuyons exclusivement sur des méthodes traditionnelles d'agriculture biologique. Le seul engrais utilisé est le guano naturel. En outre, la variété de cacao criollo pousse mieux dans un environnement mixte avec d'autres plantes indigènes de l'Amazonie péruvienne. Étant donné que les autres plantes fournissent des nutriments, retiennent l'humidité et fournissent de l'ombre aux cacaoyers, leur protection et le maintien d'un équilibre naturel sont essentiels au succès de toute plantation biologique.

Nous cultivons tous les ingrédients dans la même région et importons les produits finis directement du Pérou vers notre partenaire d'emballage ProGenève en Suisse. Cela signifie que les émissions de carbone dues au transport sont minimes.

Afin de permettre un contrôle qualité strict au plus près du client, l'emballage est réalisé en Suisse par Pro·Genève, qui sert depuis des décennies des marques renommées de différents secteurs. Nous les avons également choisis pour leur engagement à employer des personnes handicapées ou en difficulté sociale, une cause qui résonne avec nos propres valeurs.

Alors que notre partenaire Pro·Genève inspecte les marchandises pour déceler tout dommage ou détérioration visible à leur arrivée, des échantillons sont testés dans les laboratoires UFAG à Sursee (canton de Lucerne). Laboratoire alimentaire spécialisé entièrement accrédité auprès du gouvernement suisse, ils certifient la pureté et la valeur nutritive des produits Bio·Inka.